D&D Homebrew Spells
This material has not been fully playtested. Use at your own risk.
Casting Time: 1 Reaction, which you take when you or a target within 60 feet takes damage.
Range: 60 feet
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
Choose yourself, or one target within 60 feet to benefit from this spell. Also choose one foe that you or the target are fighting. Whenever this foe deals physical (but not psychic) damage to the target of this spell with a melee or ranged attack in combat, a coincidental effect occurs causing them to take damage as well. Each time this happens, the target must make a Wisdom Save, or reroll his damage dice and take that amount of damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful save. This damage is usually of the same type as the initial attack, but the GM may choose another type if the environment or situation warrants it. Examples of this effect include over-swinging a weapon and striking themselves, a cave-in that hits the enemy in the back, or a pool of acid that spills down an incline and hits their foot. At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a slot of 6th level or higher, each slot above 5th adds a beneficiary or foe to the spell's effect.
Artificer, Cleric, Wizard
Casting Time: 1 hour
Range: 15 feet
Components: V,S,M (15 gp worth of materials appropriate to the Numinus's Signature, which are consumed by the spell)
You call forth and spiritually attune to a numinus, a proto-spirit born of a Nexus itself. This numinus may be of the following types: Aquan, Auran, Cacophonous, Caustic, Charged, Creative, Deceptive, Deranged, Divinatory, Enchanted, Fierce, Frigid, Ignan, Primal, Psionic, Shielded, Solar, or Terran.
The numinus you summon is a Novice (Unless you cast this spell with a higher-level slot). Once you call it, you must attune to it within one day, taking up one of your magical item attunement slots, or it will leave. Once per week after being attuned, the numinus may improve one Maturity Level, depending on your Proficiency Bonus, as follows:
|Proficiency Bonus||Maximum Maturity Level||Signature Rank
The following rules apply to the numinus.
- You may not choose a numinus that is of a type that is Countersignature to you. It refuses to attune to you.
- This numinus takes on one of your Countersignatures.
- It becomes invisible to everyone but you if you command it to hide.
In all Settings:
- When you craft, the numinus infuses your work, and lets you create as if you were in a nexus of its type and rank. In other words, add its Signature rank to the slot level of any spells you cast which match its type.
- You may command your numinus as an action in or out of combat. If you don't command it, it will take the actions it feels are best, based on its intelligence and wisdom scores, and its Signature. Your numinus acts on its own in combat, on its own initiative, but obeys you.
- The numinus has maximum hit points for its hit dice, modified by any bonuses or penalties.
- As long as it serves you, the numinus will evolve to the next maturity level every time your Proficiency bonus improves, gaining the abilities of that Maturity Level. A numinus cannot increase in maturity level more than once in a seven day period; it will mature after that time has elapsed.
- If a numinus is reduced to 0 hp, it flashes out of existence, and a new one must be called.
- While you are within 100 feet of your numinus, you can both communicate telepathically. If it has an intelligence under 3, the numinus communicates via emotion in line with its signature, and still, fragmented images or sounds from what it perceives or knows about. With an intelligence over 3, a numinus can add telepathic words (along with still images and sounds) that its master understands.
Unlike a familiar, you cannot directly sense what a numinus senses (except for Psionic numina). However, they are insubstantial, and can pass through obstacles to describe what they sense to you. Most are not very intelligent, however, so they may make mistakes.
Numina are weak in combat outside of a vessel, which can only be provided for them by an Artificer of high enough level. They do not make good front-line combatants without a vessel.
You may dismiss a numinus at any time, it retains the benefits of having linked to you, and goes off to continue its evolution at its own movement rate. A dismissed numinus may or may not feel betrayed. You may call the same numinus again with this spell if it still exists. You may also instantly call back a dismissed numinus if you haven't taken another.
Any spell that is signature to the numinus (of the same energy type), which you cast, may be cast into the numinus if it is within 5 feet of you. The numinus will hold this spell in its energy matrix until you command it to release (cast) it, or you take a short or long rest. An artificer may also charge the numinus with one of his spells as if the numinus was an implement. Once the numinus is charged, you can command it to activate the spell as a bonus action, any time before your next long rest. The spell uses your attack bonus and save DCs.
At Higher Levels. With higher level spell slots you may call a numinus of a higher initial Maturity Level. When you cast this spell using a 3rd level Slot or higher, the numinus is a minion. With higher level slots, the numinus improves 1 maturity level per two levels of the slot beyond 3rd. If the numinus's maturity is higher than your proficiency Bonus allows (because of a Signature's effect), it serves you as if it was attuned to you, but breaks the attunement if you leave the Signature.